Albuquerque DWI Attorney
Arrested for drunk driving in Albuquerque?
Law enforcement are always on the lookout for drunk drivers and are quick to arrest anyone they assume to be operating a vehicle under the influence. It is important that if you have been arrested for a DUI or a DWI that you contact an Albuquerque criminal defense lawyer from The Romero Law Firm, P.A. right away!
In New Mexico, the law requires that any person found to be operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher be immediately taken under police custody and their license be revoked on the spot. New Mexico also is an implied-consent state, which means that any individual who refuses a blood or breath test when asked to comply, regardless if they are actually intoxicated or not, will lose their license until they request a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Division within 90 days of the license revocation.
Common Mistakes During a DWI Investigation
New Mexico law does not tolerate drinking and driving and their penalties reflect that. You can also be convicted of DWI if the law enforcement officer can prove that your ability to drive was impaired by drugs or alcohol, even if your test results were below the legal limit. Some of the biggest mistakes a suspect can make in a DWI case are:
- Talking to the officers without a lawyer there: exercise your right to remain silent until speaking with an attorney.
- Refusing a breath or blood test: there is an implied consent law in New Mexico that requires you to take the chemical test
- Missing court appearances: always be on time for court dates, you can be arrested if you do not show up
- Not hiring an experienced DWI lawyer: you need an attorney who knows the process and who understands all the various laws involved.
Defending Your Rights
It is important that if you have been accused of a DUI or DWI that you contact an Albuquerque DWI attorney from The Romero Law Firm, P.A. immediately. First time offenders may face up to 90 days in jail, an ignition interlock device installed into their car for up to one year, community service and mandatory fines and alcohol awareness programs. With each consecutive offense thereafter the penalties will increase significantly. When you work with our team, we will fight for you to receive a charge dismissal or reduction and will help defend you against harsh New Mexico DWI laws.
Police and law personnel take DWI seriously — so should you. Contact the team today to secure hard-hitting legal representation and schedule your
free case evaluation now!