Albuquerque Traffic Ticket Lawyer
Pulled over for a traffic violation in Albuquerque?
Contrary to popular belief, traffic violations are still considered criminal acts and you may face serious consequences if you do not deal with them in a timely manner. Usually, the courts require that offenders pay the fines that are specified in NM Statutes, Article 7 in addition to exorbitant town and county fees. Other times, however, you may be required to appear in court for your alleged offense.
These offenses may include, DUI, speeding, failing to stop after an accident, and others, all of which require the representation of an experienced Albuquerque criminal defense attorney. Whether you feel you were wrongly accused or you are "guilty" of the offense, you still deserve representation and the opportunity for a fair trial. Contact The Romero Law Firm, P.A. today to speak with an attorney regarding your situation.
New Mexico Insurance Requirements
According to New Mexico statutes, all drivers must carry proof of insurance (N.M. Stat. Ann. § 66-5-205), license (N.M. Stat. Ann. §66-5-2) and obey by all speed limits (N.M. Stat. Ann. § 66-7-301) as well as refrain from reckless driving and endangering others (N.M. Stat. Ann. §66-8-113.) Even things such as unpaid parking tickets can turn into a major problem if they are not dealt with in a timely manner. If you were given a ticket or cited for any traffic violation in New Mexico or surrounding states, you can turn to The Romero Law Firm, P.A. for help.
Driver's License Point System in New Mexico
When traffic laws are broken, points may be added to your driving record. While a couple of points won't matter very much, the more points you earn, the higher your insurance costs could be.
Two points will be added if any of the following infractions occur:
- Failing to wear a seat belt
- Overloading your vehicle
- Failing to signal or using the wrong signal
Three points will be added if any of the following infractions occur:
- Tailgating another car
- Illegally passing another car
- Speeding between 6 and 15 mph over the speed limit
- Failing to yield
- Driving carelessly
- Making illegal turns
Those who do not give right of way to an emergency vehicle may obtain four points for their driving record, while speeding 16-25 mph over the speed limit may earn
Six point violations may be reserved for the following infractions:
- Reckless driving
- Passing a school bus
Those who earn more than 6 points within a year may receive a warning from the MVD. Once a driver exceeds 6 points, then that individual could lose his or her license for three months. Anyone who exceeds 12 points within a year may lose the license for 12 months.
Contact an Albuquerque Criminal Defense Lawyer
At The Romero Law Firm, P.A., we have helped represent drivers from New Jersey to California. Most of our clients are truck drivers, whose entire livelihood depends on their driving record and performing to their company's standards of safe driving. There are many strategies that can be used in defending our clients, including the procedure and protocol that the citation was granted under, the training and procedure of the officers, and ensuring that our clients were treated in a respectful and constitutionally relevant matter and that no rights of theirs were violated.
We have extensive experience representing clients who have unfairly been given a traffic ticket. Don't allow your driving record to be ruined or your bank account to be drained! If you are facing traffic offenses or concerns about your future, contact The Romero Law Firm, P.A. today to speak with an Albuquerque criminal defense attorney and to schedule a
free case evaluation now. We want to ensure that your freedom is protected. Don't wait to talk to a member of a legal team as soon as you can!